nomy and some limited powers of administration which have been recognized in subsequent legislation. Later, however, an Act of 1877, providing for compulsory incorporation, was put into force, and, with its amendments, is substantially effective at the present time. It provides that county councils be constituted as bodies corporate, having two councillors elected yearly from each parish in the county. The councils elect from among their members a presiding officer who is styled the warden and who holds office until the next election of councillors. Councils may themselves, however, provide by by-law for their election biennially, a provision which does not apply to the municipality of the city and county of St. John which still holds a charter granted in the year 1785. In addition to a warden, each council elects a secretary, a treasurer and an auditor who may not be a councillor nor hold any office under the council. The councils also appoint overseers of the poor, constables, commissioners of highways, collectors of rates and other parish and county officials as may be necessary.

The qualifications of voters for the councils are very liberal. In general every British subject of legal age, having real property of any value if a resident, or if not, having real property to the value of one hundred dollars, is entitled to vote.

Judiciary.—The provincial courts of New Brunswick, similar to those of Nova Scotia, consist of the supreme court and of county courts, the supreme court consisting of the appeal division presided over by the chief justice of New Brunswick and two puisne judges, and the King's bench division, presided over by a chief justice and three puisne judges. There are six county court judges with jurisdiction in the fifteen counties of the province. Parishes are provided with local courts presided over by commissioners who are *ex officio* justices of the peace, and in some cases they are provided with stipendiary or police magistrates. These commissioners have civil jurisdiction in debts not exceeding eighty dollars and in cases of tort when the damages claimed to not exceed thirty-two dollars.

III.—PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND.

At the time of entering the Union, the government of Prince Edward Island consisted of a Governor and an Executive Council, a Legislative Council of 13 members, and a House of Assembly of 30 members. The Legislative Council was made elective in 1862 and so continued until its abolition after the union in 1873. The former Legislative Council districts, after the passage of the Abolition Act, elected members to the Legislative Assembly, fifteen in number, while the same districts elected members to the Assembly on a different franchise, thus practically amalgamating the two houses into one Assembly of 30 members. The electoral system, as far as voting is concerned, is practically one of manhood suffrage. The Executive Council of Prince Edward Island consists of (1) the President of the Council, and Attorney-General, (2) the Provincial Secretary-Treasurer, who is also Commissioner of Agriculture, (3) the Commissioner of Public Works, and (4) six members without portfolio.

With regard to the judiciary, the supreme court has a chief justice and two assistant judges. The judge of the county court for Queen's county is also the local judge in admiralty of the exchequer court. The supreme court is also a court of appeal and has jurisdiction in appeal chancery cases. It has original jurisdiction both in civil and criminal matters. In civil cases of debt the action must be for an amount above \$32, and